Aufbau von Partnerschaften zur Verbesserung von Leben

Hauptredner

Unter anderem haben bereits die folgenden Referenten zugesagt:

Pedro Mota Soares - Minister für Solidarität, Arbeit und soziale Sicherheit, Portugal

Pedro Mota Soares

Minister für Solidarität, Arbeit und soziale Sicherheit, Portugal

Nach Abschluss seines Jurastudiums absolvierte Herr Soares ein Aufbaustudium in Arbeitsrecht. Er war Lehrbeauftragter für Politikwissenschaft und Verfassungsrecht sowie für die Einführung in das Europarecht an der rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der geistes- und naturwissenschaftlichen Universität Lusófona. Ebenso war er Dozent für Völkerrecht, Medizinrecht und Bioethik.

Seit Juni 2011 ist er portugiesischer Minister für Solidarität und soziale Sicherheit. Im Juli 2013 wurde er außerdem Arbeitsminister.

Während der zehnten Legislaturperiode war er gewähltes Parlamentsmitglied und Fraktionsvorsitzender des Demokratischen und Sozialen Zentrums – Portugiesische Volkspartei (CDS-PP). Er arbeitete als Koordinator des Ausschusses für Arbeit, soziale Sicherheit und öffentliche Verwaltung, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Ethik, Gesellschaft und Kultur sowie als Mitglied des Ad-hoc-Ausschusses für verfassungsrechtliche Fragen und der Arbeitsgruppe zur Parlamentsreform. Zuvor war er stellvertretender Fraktionsvorsitzender, Koordinator des parlamentarischen Ausschusses für Gesundheit und Drogensucht und Mitglied des parlamentarischen Ausschusses für Arbeit und soziale Sicherheit.

Sie können Pedro Mota Soares auf Twitter folgen.

Corinne Cahen - Ministerin für Familie und Integration, Luxemburg

Corinne Cahen

Ministerin für Familie und Integration, Luxemburg

Corinne Cahen ist seit Dezember 2013 Ministerin für Familie und Integration in der Regierungskoalition der Demokratischen Partei (DP), der Sozialistischen Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) und der Grünen (Dei Greng) in Luxemburg. Ihr beruflicher Hintergrund liegt in den Bereichen Journalismus, Wirtschaft und Einzelhandel; von 2008 bis 2012 war sie Vorsitzende der Handelsunion der Stadt Luxemburg und von 2009 bis 2013 gewähltes Mitglied der Handelskammer. Auf der Eröffnungssitzung der Konferenz spricht sie im Namen der luxemburgischen Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union.

Sie können Corinne Cahen auf Twitter und LinkedIn folgen.

Paulo Macedo - Gesundheitsminister, Portugal

Paulo Macedo

Gesundheitsminister, Portugal

Paulo Macedo hat einen beruflichen Hintergrund in der Unternehmensberatung und im Bankwesen; seit 2011 ist er portugiesischer Gesundheitsminister. Von 2008 bis 2011 war er stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender der Banco Comercial Português; zwischen April und Juni 2011 bekleidete er die Rolle des (nicht geschäftsführenden) Vorstandsvorsitzenden von mehreren Unternehmen des BCP-Konzerns. Von 2008 bis 2011 war er außerdem Aufsichtsratmitglied der Bank Millennium (Polen) und von 2010 bis 2011 Aufsichtsratmitglied von Euronext.

Auf der Konferenz wird er sich am Mittwoch, den 8. Juli an der Abschlussdebatte am Runden Tisch beteiligen.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website von Governo de Portugal (in Portugiesisch).

Mirella Minkman - Programmdirektorin, Vilans, Nationales Kompetenzzentrum für Langzeitbetreuung, Niederlande

Mirella Minkman

Programmdirektorin, Vilans, Nationales Kompetenzzentrum für Langzeitbetreuung, Niederlande

Frau Minkman ist eine international anerkannte Expertin für Integration und leitet die Abteilung für Forschung und Innovation von Vilans, die sich mit zahlreichen Aspekten der Langzeitbetreuung befasst, wie zum Beispiel personenzentrierter und integrierter Betreuung sowie Betreuungsleitung. Ihre Forschungsarbeit führte zum Entwicklungsmodell für integrierte Betreuung, das in den Niederlanden in zahlreichen Praktiken, Betreuungsstandards und Projekten zur Anwendung kommt. Zuvor war Frau Minkman leitende Beraterin des holländischen Instituts zur Verbesserung des Gesundheitswesens; ebenso ist sie Autorin zahlreicher internationaler und nationaler Publikationen und häufige Referentin auf internationalen Konferenzen.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website von Vilans.

Paola Milani - Professorin für Familienbildung, Universität Padua, Italien

Paola Milani

Professorin für Familienbildung, Universität Padua, Italien

Professorin Milani ist die Leiterin von LabRIEF (des Labors für Forschung und Intervention in der Familienbildung, www.educazione.unipd.it/labrief) der Universität Padua, das die Forschung und Ausbildung im Bereich der Unterstützung von Eltern, der Dienstleistungsnetzwerke für Schulen und Familien sowie der Sozialarbeit mit Kindern und gefährdeten Familien fördert. Sie ist Autorin mehrerer nationaler und internationaler Publikationen; seit 2011 ist sie im Rahmen des Interventionsprogramms zur Prävention einer Heimeinweisung von durch Vernachlässigung und mangelnde Erziehung gefährdeten Kindern für die Umsetzung des (vom italienischen Sozialministerium geförderten) neuen Bewertungsrahmens in Italien verantwortlich.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website von Università degli Studi di Padova (in Italienisch).

Sarah Johnson - Programmbeauftragte, Nationales Versicherungsprogramm für Behinderungen (NDIS), Australien

Sarah Johnson

Programmbeauftragte, Nationales Versicherungsprogramm für Behinderungen (NDIS), Australien

Frau Johnson ist Programmbeauftragte des Nationalen Versicherungsprogramms für Behinderungen (NDIS); zuvor war sie Direktorin bei PricewaterhouseCoopers. Sie hat mit dem Produktivitätsausschuss der australischen Regierung zur Untersuchung der Betreuung und Unterstützung von Menschen mit Behinderungen – aus dem das australische NDIS hervorging – sowie mit zahlreichen Abteilungen auf Bundesstaats- bzw. Territorialebene in Australien bei Projekten für Menschen mit Behinderungen, ältere Menschen und ambulante Betreuung zusammengearbeitet; ebenso verfügt sie über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in den Bereichen der Humandienstleistungen, Unfallfürsorge und Gesundheit. Frau Johnson ist Mitglied des Institute of Actuaries of Australia und verfügt über einen Wirtschaftsabschluss der University of New South Wales.

Rita Valadas - Sozialamtsleiterin, Santa Casa da Misericórdia, Lissabon, Portugal

Rita Valadas

Sozialamtsleiterin, Santa Casa da Misericórdia, Lissabon, Portugal

Rita Valadas ist Leiterin des Sozialamts und Ausschussmitglied der Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lisboa, eines ESN-Mitglieds. Ebenso ist sie Direktorin der „Caritas Portuguesa“, Geschäftsführerin der Zeitschrift „Cidade Solidária“ und Assistentin im Staatsministerium für soziale Sicherheit sowie des Ministers für soziale Sicherheit und Arbeit. Frau Valadas hat einen Abschluss in Sozialpolitik und unterrichtet Forschungsmethodologie im Institut Piaget (Almada).

Sie können Rita Valadas auf Twitter und LinkedIn folgen.

Wolfgang Mueller - Geschäftsführer Europäische Angelegenheiten der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, Deutschland

Wolfgang Mueller

Geschäftsführer Europäische Angelegenheiten der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, Deutschland

Herr Dr. Wolfgang Müller ist Geschäftsführer Europäische Angelegenheiten der Bundesagentur für Arbeit.

Er vertritt die Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Ausschuss des Netzwerks der europäischen öffentlichen Arbeitsverwaltungen sowie im EURES-Vorstand. Ebenso ist er Mitglied von mehreren Beratungs- und hochrangigen Expertengruppen in den Bereichen Arbeit, Bildung und Migration.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit für die Bundesagentur für Arbeit arbeitete er innerhalb der Vereinten Nationen und NATO für die deutsche Regierung. Er hat einen MBA- und Ph.D.-Abschluss in Verwaltungswirtschaft.

Anna Balkfors - Direktorin, Institut für nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung , Malmö, Schweden

Anna Balkfors

Direktorin, Institut für nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung , Malmö, Schweden

Anna Balkfors ist Direktorin des Instituts für nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung in Malmö und war Generalsekretärin des Ausschusses für ein sozial nachhaltiges Malmö, der evidenzbasierte Strategien zur Verringerung des gesundheitlichen Ungleichgewichts in der Stadt entwickelte – eine der weltweit ersten Initiativen dieser Art, die auf dem Ausschuss für soziale Gesundheitsfaktoren der Weltgesundheitsorganisation aufbaut. Der Endbericht mit dem Titel Malmö auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft, Gesundheit, Wohlfahrt und Justiz wird momentan umgesetzt. Als politische Unternehmerin hat Frau Balkfors Veränderungen der Strukturen und Organisationsformen im Zusammenhang mit komplexen Themen angeregt und verwirklicht, indem sie neue Ansätze ins Leben rief und Akteure des öffentlichen Sektors, von NGOs, der Wissenschaft und der Privatwirtschaft zu einer Zusammenarbeit animierte. Sie verfügt über einen Masters-Abschluss in öffentlicher Gesundheit und arbeitet momentan an ihrer Dissertation über Veränderungsmanagement für Gleichberechtigung im Gesundheitswesen.

Sie können Anna Balkfors auf Twitter und LinkedIn folgen.

Jetta Klijnsma - Staatssekretärin für Soziales und Arbeit, Niederlande

Jetta Klijnsma

Staatssekretärin für Soziales und Arbeit, Niederlande

Frau Klijnsma wurde zuerst 2008 und anschließend erneut 2012 zur Staatssekretärin für Soziales und Arbeit ernannt. Sie ist Mitglied der niederländischen Arbeiterpartei (PvdA); zuvor war sie als Mitglied des Stadtrats von Den Haag ab 1998 für Gesundheit, Soziales und Chancengleichheit sowie von 2002 bis 2008 für Kultur und Finanzen zuständig. Am 17. Juni 2010 wurde sie parlamentarische Abgeordnete für die PvdA. Ebenso ist Frau Klijnsma im Bereich der Wohlfahrt und des Sozialwesens in zahlreichen Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft tätig, darunter die Liliane-Stiftung, der Beratungsdienst Stichting Korrelatie und die Start-Stiftung. Anfang 2012 wurde ihr die Leitung des neuen Ausschusses der Gewerkschaftsbewegung angetragen.

Sie können Jetta Klijnsma auf Twitter folgen.

Hugh Frazer - Außerplanmäßiger Professor für angewandte Sozialstudien, Maynooth University, Irland/Koordinator, Europäisches Netzwerk für Sozialpolitik

Hugh Frazer

Außerplanmäßiger Professor für angewandte Sozialstudien, Maynooth University, Irland/Koordinator, Europäisches Netzwerk für Sozialpolitik

Hugh Frazer ist ein unabhängiger Experte für europäische und nationale Politiken und Programme zur Bekämpfung von Armut und sozialer Ausgrenzung. Sein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Bereichen Kinderarmut, soziale Eingliederung und Weiterentwicklung der gemeindenahen Betreuung.

Sie können Hugh Frazer auf Twitter folgen.

Stefan Olsson - Leiter der Abteilung für soziale Eingliederung und Armutsbekämpfung, Generaldirektion für Beschäftigung, Soziales und Integration, Europäische Kommission, Belgien

Stefan Olsson

Leiter der Abteilung für soziale Eingliederung und Armutsbekämpfung, Generaldirektion für Beschäftigung, Soziales und Integration, Europäische Kommission, Belgien

Stefan Olsson ist ein schwedischer Jurist mit Abschlüssen in Völker- und Steuerrecht. Seit Beginn seiner Arbeit für die Europäische Kommission im Jahr 1996 war er Assistent des Generaldirektors für Beschäftigung und Soziales (2000-2005); anschließend leitete er Abteilungen für Gesetze und Politiken zum Schutz vor Diskrimination sowie zur Inklusion der Roma. Im Jahr 2014 wurde er Leiter der Abteilung für soziale Eingliederung und Armutsbekämpfung.

Elke Sleurs - Staatssekretärin für Armut, Chancengleichheit und behinderte Menschen, Belgien

Elke Sleurs

Staatssekretärin für Armut, Chancengleichheit und behinderte Menschen, Belgien

Elke Sleurs ist als belgische parlamentarische Staatssekretärin zuständig für Armutsbekämpfung, Chancengleichheit, Menschen mit Behinderungen, Stadtentwicklung und Wissenschaftspolitik. Sie kam im Oktober 2014 ins Amt. Ihre politische Erfahrung sammelte sie im Senat, in den sie 2010 gewählt wurde. Von Oktober 2011 bis zum Ende der Legislaturperiode im Jahr 2014 war sie Vorsitzende des Ausschusses für soziale Fragen. Als Senatorin war sie besonders aktiv im Bereich der Modernisierung der nationalen Gesetzgebung für Euthanasie sowie im Gesundheitswesen und in ethischen Fragen. Vor ihrer Ernennung studierte Frau Sleurs Medizin. Im Mittelpunkt ihres Fachwissens als Gynäkologin stehen die vorgeburtliche Diagnose und Ultrasonografie.

Marianne Thyssen - Kommissarin für Beschäftigung, Soziales, Ausbildung und Mobilität von Arbeitskräften, Belgien (Video) dei lavoratori, Belgio (video)

Marianne Thyssen

Kommissarin für Beschäftigung, Soziales, Ausbildung und Mobilität von Arbeitskräften, Belgien (Video) dei lavoratori, Belgio (video)

Marianne Thyssen ist EU-Kommissarin für Beschäftigung, soziale Angelegenheiten und Integration. Zu ihrem Portfolio gehört die Beaufsichtigung der EU-Politik in den Bereichen Beschäftigung, Berufsausbildung, Qualifikation, Arbeitsmarktreform und soziale Eingliederung, einschließlich der Gesetzgebung für Chancengleichheit am Arbeitsplatz. Zuvor war sie von 2008 bis 2010 Fraktionsvorsitzende der flämischen Christdemokratischen Partei. Ebenso arbeitete sie als Mitglied des Europaparlaments sowie als stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Wirtschaftsausschusses.

Beatriz Mato Otero - Galicischen Regierung Regionalministerin für Arbeit und Soziales, Spanien

Beatriz Mato Otero

Galicischen Regierung Regionalministerin für Arbeit und Soziales, Spanien

Beatriz Mato Otero ist Wirtschaftsingenieurin mit Schwerpunkt Betriebsorganisation der Wirtschaftsingenieurschule von Bilbao; ebenso hat sie einen Master in Management und Betriebswirtschaft der von der Universität A Coruña akkreditierten MBA Business School. Im Jahr 1994 wurde sie Mitarbeiterin des Galicischen Instituts für Wirtschaftsförderung (IGAPE), einer Behörde des regionalen Finanzministeriums der autonomen Region Galicien, wo sie ab 2000 als Delegierte für das Gebietsamt von A Coruña zuständig war. 2002 begann Beatriz Mato ihre Arbeit als Provinzdelegierte von A Coruña im Regionalministerium für Fischereiwesen und maritime Angelegenheiten. 2005 wurde sie als Vizepräsidentin der Volkspartei in das Parlament von Galicien gewählt. In dieser siebten Legislaturperiode war sie Sprecherin für Arbeit. Seit März 2009 ist sie in der galicischen Regierung Regionalministerin für Arbeit und Soziales.

Jasmin Battista - Mitglied des Kabinetts, Digitaler Binnenmarkt, Europäische Kommission

Jasmin Battista

Mitglied des Kabinetts, Digitaler Binnenmarkt, Europäische Kommission

Jasmin Battista ist seit November 2014 als Mitglied des Kabinetts des Vizepräsidenten der Europäischen Kommission für den digitalen Binnenmarkt Ansip sowie unter anderem für elektronischen Handel, Verbraucherschutz und Share Economy zuständig. Zuvor war sie seit Juni 2010 als Mitglied im Kabinett des Energiekommissars Oettinger für erneuerbare Energien zuständig; vorher beriet sie als Politikbeauftragte der Generaldirektion Energie den Generaldirektor und arbeitete fünf Jahre lang als Sachbearbeiterin und Politikbeauftragte für die Generaldirektion Wettbewerb (überwiegend im Bereich staatliche EU-Subventionen, Wettbewerb und Energierecht). Vor ihrer Arbeit für die Kommission war sie selbständige Anwältin; sie ist Mitglied der Anwaltschaft von Rom und arbeitete als Sozia und Referendarin in den internationalen Anwaltskanzleien Coudert Brothers, O’Connor & Company und Tizzano.

Ray James - Vorsitzender des Verbands der Direktoren von Sozialdiensten für Erwachsene (ADASS), England

Ray James

Vorsitzender des Verbands der Direktoren von Sozialdiensten für Erwachsene (ADASS), England

Ray James kombiniert seine Arbeit in der Bezirksverwaltung Enfield als Direktor für Gesundheit, Wohnungswesen und Sozialleistungen für Erwachsene mit seiner Rolle als Präsident des Verbands der Direktoren von Sozialdiensten für Erwachsene (ADASS). Für den ADASS war er in verschiedenen Rollen tätig, darunter Vorsitzender der Region London, nationaler Leiter für die Regionen und Vizepräsident.

Muriel Rabau - Stellvertretende Vorsitzende des EU-Sozialschutzausschusses

Muriel Rabau

Stellvertretende Vorsitzende des EU-Sozialschutzausschusses

Muriel Rabau ist Generalbeirätin des belgischen Bundesministeriums für soziale Sicherheit. Sie ist für die Abteilung für multilaterale Beziehungen verantwortlich, die in Fragen der sozialen Sicherheit und sozialen Eingliederung auf europäischer und internationaler Ebene tätig ist. Im März 2012 wurde Frau Rabau stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Sozialschutzausschusses.

Dominic Richardson - Leitender Bildungsspezialist des UNICEF-Forschungsbüros, Italien

Dominic Richardson

Leitender Bildungsspezialist des UNICEF-Forschungsbüros, Italien

Dominic Richardson ist leitender Bildungsspezialist des UNICEF-Forschungsbüros Innocenti, das die Forschungsarbeit in den Bereichen Bildungspolitik und ‑programme, Chancengleichheit in der Bildung und Messung von Schulergebnissen leitet. Zuvor befasste er sich in der sozialpolitischen Abteilung der OECD mit der Politik und Wohlfahrt für Kinder und Familien und leitete Projekte zur Bewertung der Effizienz und Wirksamkeit von Bargeldleistungen im Vergleich zu Dienstleistungen für Familien sowie Studien über die Entwicklung des Sozialwesens und Gefährdung. Herr Richardson war Hauptautor des Berichts über die Integration von Sozialleistungen für gefährdete Gruppen und Koautor des ersten OECD-Berichts über Investitionen mit sozialer Auswirkung.

Maria Virgínia Brás Gomes - Senior-Beraterin für Sozialpolitik, Referat für soziale Sicherung, Ministerium für Solidarität, Beschäftigung, und soziale Sicherung, Portugal

Maria Virgínia Brás Gomes

Senior-Beraterin für Sozialpolitik, Referat für soziale Sicherung, Ministerium für Solidarität, Beschäftigung, und soziale Sicherung, Portugal

Mitglied des UN-Komitees für Wirtschaftliche, soziale, und kulturelle Rechte. Von 2008 bis 2010 war Brás Gomes stellvertretende Vorsitzende dieses Komitees und von 2012 bis 2014 die Berichterstatterin. Mitglied des Internationalen Vorstands für PWESCR (Programm“Wirtschaftlichen, soziale und kulturellen Rechte von Frauen”), des UNRISD-Beirats für das Projekt “Soziale Sicherung mit Menschenrechten verknüpfen”, des Vorstands des portugiesischen UNICEF-Komitees, des Nationalen Komitees für Menschenrechte. Sie war zudem Mitglied der hochrangigen Beratergruppe des Europäischen Sozialen Netzwerks zum Thema Deinstitutionalisierung.

Building partnerships to improve lives

Speakers

Key speakers who have already confirmed their participation include:

 

Pedro Mota Soares - Minister of Solidarity, Employment and Social Security, Portugal

Pedro Mota Soares

Minister of Solidarity, Employment and Social Security, Portugal

After graduating in law, he took a post-graduate degree in Labour Law. He has been assistant lecturer in Political Science and Constitutional Law as well as in Introduction to EU Law at the Faculty of Law - Lusófona Humanities and Technologies University. He has also taught Public International Law, Health Law and Bioethics.

He has been the Portuguese Minister for Solidarity and Social Security since June 2011. In July 2013 he also gained the Employment portfolio.

He was elected Member of Parliament during the 10th parliamentary term, where he was Leader of the Democratic and Social Centre - People's Party (CDS-PP) Parliamentary Group. He served as Coordinator of the Committee on Labour, Social Security and Public Administration, Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Ethics, Society and Culture and Member of the Constitutional Review Occasional Committee and of the Working Group on Parliamentary Reform.  Prior to this, he was Deputy Parliamentary Group Leader, served as Coordinator on the Parliamentary Committee on Health and Drug Addiction and Member of the Parliamentary Committee on Labour and Social Security.

You can follow Pedro Mota Soares on Twitter.

Corinne Cahen - Minister for Family and Integration, Luxembourg

Corinne Cahen

Minister for Family and Integration, Luxembourg

Corinne Cahen has been Minister for Family and Integration since December 2013 in the Government Alliance between the Democratic Party (DP), the Socialist Labour Party (LSAP) and the Ecologists (Dei Greng) in Luxemburg. With a background in journalism, business and retail, she was also the president of the Commercial Union of the city of Luxembourg from 2008 to 2012 and an elected member of the Chamber of Commerce from 2009 to 2013. She will be speaking in the opening session of the conference on behalf of the Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

You can follow Corinne Cahen on Twitter and LinkedIn

Paulo Macedo - Minister of Health, Portugal

Paulo Macedo

Minister of Health, Portugal

With a background in management consultancy and banking, Paulo Macedo has been Minister of Health in Portugal since 2011. Between 2008 and 2011 he was Vice-President of the Executive Board of Directors of the Banco Comercial Português, and between April and June 2011 took on the role of Vice President (non-executive) of several companies within the BCP Group. Between 2008 and 2011 he was also a member of the Supervisory Board of Bank Millennium (Poland), and between 2010 and 2011 he was a member of the Supervisory Board of Euronext.

At the conference he will join the final Round Table debate on Wednesday 8 July.

For more information on Paulo Macedo, please visit Governo de Portugal (in Portuguese).

Mirella Minkman - Programme Director, Vilans, National Centre of Expertise in Long-Term Care, The Netherlands

Mirella Minkman

Programme Director, Vilans, National Centre of Expertise in Long-Term Care, The Netherlands

Mirella is an internationally recognised expert in integration and is in charge of the Research and Innovation Department of Vilans, which works on a number of topics in long term care such as person centred and integrated care and the governance of care. Her research resulted in the Development Model for Integrated Care which is being used in a large number of practices, care standards and projects in the Netherlands. Mirella was previously a senior advisor at the Dutch Institute for Healthcare Improvement, is the author of a number of international and national publications and is a frequent speaker at international conferences.

For more information on Mirella Minkman, please visit Vilans website.

Wolfgang Mueller - Managing Director European Affairs, Federal Employment Agency, Germany

Wolfgang Mueller

Managing Director European Affairs, Federal Employment Agency, Germany

Dr Wolfgang Mueller is the Managing Director European Affairs at the Bundesagentur fuer Arbeit, the German Federal Employment Agency. He is the representative of the German Federal Employment Agency on the Board of the European Public Employment Services Network and in the EURES Management Board. He is a member of several Advisory and High Level Expert Groups in the area of employment, education and migration. Before he joined the German Federal Employment Agency he worked for the German Government with the United Nations and NATO. He holds an MBA and a Ph.D. in Public Management.

Paola Milani - Professor in Family Education, Padua University, Italy

Paola Milani

Professor in Family Education, Padua University, Italy

Professor Milani heads up the LabRIEF (Laboratory of Research and Intervention in Family Education, www.educazione.unipd.it/labrief) at Padua University, which promotes research and training in the field of parenting support, school/family service networks  and social work with children and vulnerable families. She is author of several national and international publications and since 2011 has been in charge of the implementation of the new Assessment Framework in Italy (promoted by the Italian Ministry of Welfare), as part of the Programme of Intervention for Prevention of Institutionalisation of children at risk through neglect and poor parenting.

For more information on Paola Milani, please visit Università degli Studi di Padova (in italian).

Sarah Johnson - Scheme Actuary, National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), Australia

Sarah Johnson

Scheme Actuary, National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), Australia

Sarah is the Scheme Actuary of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) and previously a Director at PricewaterhouseCoopers. Sarah worked with the Australian Government Productivity Commission on the Disability Care and Support Inquiry which led to the NDIS in Australia and has also collaborated with a number of state/territory departments in Australia on projects involving disability, ageing and home care and has wide experience in human services, accident compensation and health. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and a Bachelor of Commerce at the University of New South Wales.

Rita Valadas - Director of Social Services, Santa Casa da Misericórdia, Lisbon, Portugal

Rita Valadas

Director of Social Services, Santa Casa da Misericórdia, Lisbon, Portugal

Rita Valadas is the Director of Social Services and a Member of the Board of Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lisboa which is a member of ESN. Rita is also Director of ‘Caritas Portuguesa‘, the Executive Director of the magazine “Cidade Solidária” and  Assistant to the Office of the Secretary of State for Social Security and the Minister of Social Security and Labour. Rita has a degree in Social Policy and teaches Research Metholdology at the Piaget Institute (Almada).

You can follow Rita Valadas on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Thomas Dominique - Chair, Social Protection Committee/Head of Cabinet, Ministry of Social Security, Luxembourg

Thomas Dominique

Chair, Social Protection Committee/Head of Cabinet, Ministry of Social Security, Luxembourg

Thomas Dominique was elected Chair of the Social Protection Committee (SPC) in January  2013 and is also Head of Cabinet at the Ministry of Social Security of Luxembourg. His main activities and responsibilities are in social programming in the area of social protection and public finances and  socio-economic projections in the context of the financial sustainability of social security schemes for Luxembourg. He is also a member of the Ageing working group (AWG) of the Economic Policy Committee (EPC), member of the interministerial working group on public finances and the European Semester, member of the interministerial working group on the national reform programme, member of the interministerial working group on social inclusion and member of the interministerial working group on sustainable development.

Jetta Klijnsma - Secretary of State for Social Affairs and Employment, The Netherlands

Jetta Klijnsma

Secretary of State for Social Affairs and Employment, The Netherlands

Ms Klijnsma was appointed State Secretary for Social Affairs and Employment first in 2008 and recently again in 2012. A member of the Dutch Labour Party (PvdA), she was previously a member of the Hague City Executive where from 1998 she was responsible for health, welfare and equal opportunities and from 2002 to 2008 she was responsible for culture and finance. On 17 June 2010 she became a member of the House of Representatives for the PvdA. Ms Klijnsma has also been involved in many civil society organisations related to social care and welfare, including the Liliane Fund, the Stichting Korrelatie helpline and the Start Foundation. In early 2012 she was invited to head the New Trade Union Movement committee.

You can follow Jetta Klijnsma on Twitter.

Anna Balkfors - Director, Institute for Sustainable Urban Development, Malmö, Sweden

Anna Balkfors

Director, Institute for Sustainable Urban Development, Malmö, Sweden

Anna Balkfors is Director of the Institute for Sustainable Urban Development in Malmö, and was General Secretary for the Commission for a socially sustainable Malmö which created evidence-based strategies to reduce health inequality within the city; one of the world´s first based on the WHO Commission on the social determinants of health. The final report Malmö’s way towards a sustainable future, Health, welfare and justice is now being implemented. Anna is a policy entrepreneur who has initiated and succeeded in changing structures and organizations on complex issues by instigating new approaches and encouraging actors from the public sector, NGOs, academia and the business community to work together. She has a Masters in Public Health and is now working on her PhD on change management for equity in health.

You can follow Anna Balkfors on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Hugh Frazer - Adjunct Professor of Applied Social Studies, Maynooth University, Ireland/Coordinator, European Social Policy Network

Hugh Frazer

Adjunct Professor of Applied Social Studies, Maynooth University, Ireland/Coordinator, European Social Policy Network

Hugh Frazer is an independent expert on European and national policies and programmes to tackle poverty and social exclusion.  He focuses particularly on child poverty, social inclusion and community development issues.

You can follow Hugh Frazer on Twitter

Stefan Olsson - Head of Social inclusion and Poverty reduction unit, DG Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion, European Commission, Belgium

Stefan Olsson

Head of Social inclusion and Poverty reduction unit, DG Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion, European Commission, Belgium

Stefan Olsson is a Swedish lawyer with degrees in international and tax law. Having joined the European Commission in 1996, he was assistant to the Director General for Employment and Social Affairs (2000-2005) before leading units dealing with anti-discrimination law and policy including Roma Inclusion. In 2014 he became head of the Unit for Social Inclusion and Poverty Reduction.

Elke Sleurs - Secretary of State for Poverty, Equal Chances, Disabled People, Belgium

Elke Sleurs

Secretary of State for Poverty, Equal Chances, Disabled People, Belgium

Elke Sleurs is the Belgian Federal State Secretary competent for the fight on poverty, equal opportunities, persons with disabilities, urban agenda and science policy. She took office in October 2014. She acquired her experience in politics in the Senate, for which she was elected in 2010. She chaired the Commission on Social Issues from October 2011 until the end of the legislative term in 2014. As a senator she was particularly active with regards to modernizing the national euthanasia legislation, health care and ethical topics. Before taking office, Elke Sleurs studied medicine. Her expertise as a gynecologist focuses on prenatal diagnosis and prenatal ultrasonography.

Marianne Thyssen - Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility, Belgium (video)

Marianne Thyssen

Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility, Belgium (video)

Marianne Thyssen is the European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion. Her portfolio includes overseeing European Union policy on employment, vocational training, skills, labour market reforms and social inclusion, including workplace equality legislation. Prior to that, she was the party leader of the Flemish Christian Democratic Party from 2008 to 2010. She also served as a member of the European parliament and as vice-chair of the economic committee.

Beatriz Mato Otero - Minister for Employment and Welfare, Region of Galicia, Spain

Beatriz Mato Otero

Minister for Employment and Welfare, Region of Galicia, Spain

Beatriz Mato Otero is an industrial engineer, specializing in Business Organization, by the School of Industrial Engineers of Bilbao, and got a Management and Business Administration Master from the MBA Business School accredited by the University of A Coruña. In 1994 she became part of IGAPE, the Galician Institute of Economic Promotion, a public body under the Regional Ministry of Finance of the Autonomous Community of Galicia, in which, since 2000, she served as the delegate in charge of the territorial office in A Coruña. In 2002 Beatriz Mato joined the Regional Ministry of Fisheries and Maritime Affairs as provincial delegate in A Coruña. In 2005, she was elected as a deputy of the Popular Party in the Parliament of Galicia. In this seventh legislature she held the spokesperson for Labour Affairs. Since March 2009 she is the Regional Minister of Labour and Welfare of the Galician government.

Jasmin Battista - Member of Cabinet, Digital Single Market, European Commission

Jasmin Battista

Member of Cabinet, Digital Single Market, European Commission

Jasmin Battista is presently Member of the Cabinet of Vice President of the European Commission for Digital Single Market Ansip since November 2014, in charge among other of e-commerce, consumer protection and sharing economy. Previously she was in the cabinet of the energy Commissioner Oettinger since June 2010 in charge of renewable energy, and before that policy officer in DG ENERGY advising the Director General and 5  years case handler and policy officer for DG Competition (predominantly in the field of the EC State aid, competition and energy law). Prior to joining the Commission, she was in private practice; she is a lawyer of the Rome Bar and had an associate’s position and traineeship in international law firms– Coudert Brothers and O’Connor & Company and Tizzano.

Ray James - President of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services (ADASS), England

Ray James

President of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services (ADASS), England

Ray combines his role as the Director of Health, Housing and Adult Social Care at Enfield Council with the privilege of serving as the President of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services (ADASS). He has held a number of roles within ADASS including Chair of the London Region, National Lead for the Regions and Vice President.

Muriel Rabau - Vice-Chair, European Union Social Protection Committee

Muriel Rabau

Vice-Chair, European Union Social Protection Committee

Muriel is Councelor General at the Belgian Federal Ministry for Social Security.  She is responsible for the Multilateral Relations unit dealing with social security and social inclusion issues at European level and international level. In March 2012 Muriel became vice-chair of the Social Protection Committee.

Dominic Richardson - Senior Education Specialist UNICEF Office of Research, Italy

Dominic Richardson

Senior Education Specialist UNICEF Office of Research, Italy

Dominic Richardson is a senior education specialist in the UNICEF Office of Research – Innocenti, leading research on education policy and programming, equity in education, and the measurement of school outcomes. Previously, Dominic worked in with OECD Social Policy Division on issues of child and family policy and wellbeing, were he led projects evaluating the efficiency and effectiveness of cash versus service policies for families and studies of social service development and vulnerability. Dominic was the lead author on the integration of social services for vulnerable groups report, and also coauthored the OECD’s first report on social impact investment.

Maria Virgínia Brás Gomes - Senior social policy adviser in the General Directorate for Social Security /Ministry of Solidarity, Employment and Social Security, Portugal

Maria Virgínia Brás Gomes

Senior social policy adviser in the General Directorate for Social Security /Ministry of Solidarity, Employment and Social Security, Portugal

Member of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. From 2008 to 2010 she served as vice-chair of the Committee and from 2012 to 2014 as rapporteur.  

Member of the International Board of PWESCR (Programme for Women’s Economic, Social and Cultural Rights); of the UNRISD Advisory Group for the project on Linking Social Protection and Human Rights; of the Board of the Portuguese UNICEF Committee; and of the National Committee for Human Rights. She also served on the European Social Network High Level Advisory Group on De-institutionalisation.